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Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): How to Use It to Gauge Your Marketing Effectiveness

July 8, 2025 by James Schulman

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): How to Use It to Gauge Your Marketing Effectiveness

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is exactly what it sounds like: the total cost incurred by a business to acquire a new customer. This includes all marketing and sales expenses—we’re talking ad spend, software, subscription services, salaries, content and design creation, web hosting expenses, etc.—divided by the number of new customers gained in a given time period. 

This metric is important to keep tabs on because when you can keep your CAC number low, it means you’re getting a solid return on your marketing investment. Here’s what else to know about customer acquisition costs and why it’s a data point you want to monitor.

Why Customer Acquisition Cost Matters

CAC is more than just a number—it’s a direct window into how cost-effective your marketing efforts are. A high CAC might mean your campaigns are inefficient or you’re targeting the wrong audience. A low CAC suggests you’re hitting the mark and may want to double-down on these efforts.

The formula for measuring cost per customer acquisition is:

CAC = Total Marketing and Sales Expenses / Number of New Customers Acquired. 

You can choose a period of time to measure, say per month or per quarter, and start tracking your acquisitions. For example, if you spend $10,000 on marketing in a given month and acquire 50 new customers, your CAC is $200.

Understanding your CAC helps you:

  • Measure marketing ROI
  • Determine budget allocation
  • Evaluate channel performance
  • Forecast profitability
  • Optimize your strategy

If you aren’t happy with the numbers you’re seeing, you could consider refining your target audience (maybe the right people aren’t seeing your message?), seek ways to improve your conversion rates with optimized content, or invest in greater content marketing efforts overall to boost leads on a budget.

Need Help with Your Content Strategy? Call us at The Found Gen.

The price you pay to acquire customers is not something to ignore. When you understand your CAC and use it to guide decisions, you can grow smarter, more efficiently and maintain sustainable growth.

If you need help making sure your marketing strategy stays on course, call us at The Found Gen today. We can take a fresh look at your marketing data to see how we can help you grow effectively.

Filed Under: Digital Marketing, Strategy Tagged With: customer acquisition cost, Marketing, marketing analytics, marketing data, marketing effectiveness, The Found Gen

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